The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

I created this blog to talk about my books, dish some trivia and goof around in a bookish way, but until now, I haven’t had a moment to do much of anything but announce links and signings. Well, as of last week, with the uploading of Haunted, the last of four titles  (Candle Bay, Moonfall and Eternity) I retained e-rights to, the conversions are complete and it’s back to full-time writing for me, with a little blog talk on the side. And as if he somehow knew all this, Michael Evans invited me to follow him in The Next Big Thing Blog Hop, so won’t you please join me now as I venture into these questions? It’s a dirty job and we may come out with a lot of dirt under our nails, but, hey, free dirt!

What is the working title of your book?  CBII, Candle Bay Part Deux, Candle Bay: The Sequel, and occasionally, Roadtrip!   I’ll know the real title when it decides to reveal itself in all its pulsing naked glory.  Whatever it’s called, the book follows the vampiric Darling Family through a scary but rollicking new adventure and also reveals, at long last, whether or not our heroine goes under the fang.

Where did the idea come from for the book? From some of the characters in Candle Bay. Those troublesome vampire twins, Juicy Lucy and Poison Ivy, have been pestering me about their need for a roadtrip ever since I typed the last word on the last page of the original Candle Bay.

 What genre does your book fall under? Horror. In Tag-speak, that’s Vampires, Ribaldry, Humor, Atlantis, Eternity, American Folklore, Sex, and Puns.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition? Orion Darling, head of the Darling Family (the vampires who own the Candle Bay Hotel) must be played by Robert DeNiro.  That is, Robert DeNiro impersonating Marlon Brando as The Godfather.  It says that much in Candle Bay.  He owes me.

Ori’s daughter, business-vampire, Natasha, would be perfect for Katherine Zeta-Jones, though some may argue that she’s getting a little long in the tooth for the role… But I say, viva irony!  Brothers Stephen and Ivor Darling, can be played by any Chris-Sarandon-in-his-prime tall dark and hunksome actors. Forever teens,  Lucy and Ivy, with their insatiable appetites have always been a pair of wicked little Dushku-types.

Trueborn vampire, Julian Valentyne, is named after Julian Sands.  Hint, hint, nudge, nudge, know what I mean? In my mind, Julian is a cross between Sands and Richard O’Brien’s Riff Raff in Rocky Horror Picture Show, but for the movies, I think going with the yummier aspect is a good plan.

As for Amanda Pearce, she’s blond and perky, with a wide streak of snark and  a decent dose of brains. Someone with some range and a pixy nose will do.  And the ever-present (he pops up in lots of books), DJ Coastal Eddie Fortune, could be handily played by either John Corbett or the long-haired hippie schoolteacher from Beavis and Butthead.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book? “Oh, crap, this dire situation requires a ROADTRIP!”

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?  I tend to be a traditionalist.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?  I’m writing it now.  It will take three or four months more and I aim to turn it in in June.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?  Inspiration came from the research for the first book as well as characters Julian and the twins. Between the stories Julian told them about Euloa/Atlantis and other places he visited, and my continuing fascination with Mt. Shasta’s lore, it was inevitable.  I first got into Shasta’s crazy lore (which includes vampires, Atlantis and just about every other beloved trope) when I wrote Eternity. Then I carried it into Candle Bay.  Icehouse Mountain is my version of Mt. Shasta.

 What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?  Besides lots of sex? And tongue-in-cheekiness (and other places)? Well, my vampires are connoisseurs of blood. They taste by type and while they do appreciate a nice little house vein, they give bottles of rare blends to one another at Vampire New Years parties and bat mitzvahs.  (They’ve asked me to counsel you to never order a BO Negative.)   And hey, what else is there?  A freaking roadtrip!  Who doesn’t love a roadtrip! I call shotgun!

A week from today, follow the links below to read more Next Big Thing Blogs. You just might find entries  from the lovely Jared Anderson, the gorgeous Gryffyn Phoenix, the delightful Janice Oberding, and the absolutely fabulous Writer to be Announced.  He’s tops in the field!

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

  1. I am a friend of Jared’s I love reading his blogs and he has written about you in his blog. I love horror stories, the kind that keeps you on the edge of your seat. I know I will love reading you as well.

Leave a Reply

